Future Vision Blog #2: Rationale

As I mentioned in my last post, my Final Vision Project on Book Trailers is primarily geared towards my staff, students, and school as a way to foster a reading culture and to help my staff view the teacher-librarian as an instructional leader.  Due to lots of teacher-librarian changeover and dwindling resources, the library has been somewhat neglected and, as a result, lost a lot of its “flair.”  People have, to a degree, forgotten the various roles a teacher-librarian encompasses and how he/she can help benefit the school in different ways.  Thus, when I was deciding upon a final vision project, I knew that I needed to do something that would help to showcase the teacher-librarian in a new light and that would demonstrate how the teacher-librarian can contribute to the school.  My Final Vision Project, therefore, emphasizes the teacher-librarian’s role as an instructional leader, because I envision using it to lead my staff in a workshop (during a professional development day or a curriculum meeting) on how to make book trailers with their classes. As part of this workshop, I would also offer my assistance in doing this activity with the teachers and their classes throughout the year as a collaborative teaching experience. By doing this, they can see that I am not only capable and knowledgeable with technology, but I am an instructional leader and collaborative partner, not just a person who manages the library resources. Furthermore, it will help teachers gain a stronger grasp of their learning and, hopefully, inspire them (and others) to participate in more collaborative units and teaching with me.

Yet, my Future Vision Project doesn’t just end with my staff’s workshop.  Yes, it will help them to see me as an instructional leader, but it serves much more of a purpose than that. It will benefit my students, as well.  As part of the workshop, I plan on having the staff create their own book trailers that we can showcase at assemblies and in the library for students to view.  In this way, it helps foster a reading culture in the school, because students are seeing that teachers value reading, too.  It models to students that reading is important while also providing them with new books to explore that they may not have heard of before. In addition, if teachers decide to try this activity in their classrooms (with or without my assistance), then it provides students with a motivating and engaging activity that demonstrates their understanding of books (i.e. plot, characters, etc.).  If students make book trailers, then they can be displayed at assemblies or in the library to further motivate others to read new or different books.  It may also motivate other teachers to try the project out in their classrooms.

Because I’m planning on incorporating screen capture video (either as a standalone or as part of my presentation), then I’ll be able to post my workshop/tutorial online for others to use.  Teachers across the world could potentially use it to teach themselves how to make book trailers with students, which will not only benefit them, but also their students. Teachers, however, may not be the only ones using my video, as I see potential for others to view it and try it out.  My audience, therefore, could expand to students, young adults, or whoever else wants to learn how to make book trailers or how to use the technology in a new way.  Just because my project focuses on book trailers, does not necessarily mean that others could not view it and adapt it to their own projects. The beauty of the Internet is that it can reach so many more people than a small workshop can.

As for working on my project, I am still in the planning stages.  I have spent quite a bit of time just familiarizing myself with different ways to make book trailers using different programs.  In order to do a workshop, I need to ensure that I am confident in my ability to work the program. Through my exploration, I have read of people using iMovie, Animoto, Photo Story 3, and Windows Movie Maker to make book trailers.  Because we have gone PC in our district, iMovie is out.  I liked the idea of using Animoto, but I just discovered that my district has some new regulations about using Web 2.0 tools (from Christine’s blog post) and I do not believe Animoto is currently “approved.” As such, I narrowed down my search to Photo Story 3 or Windows Movie Maker.  I did confirm with my school’s IT guy that both programs are on the laptops at school (which is pretty important if I’m going to do a workshop on using them!). Plus, my staff would probably feel more comfortable using a program that is already on the computers, as opposed to one that requires the Internet to operate (in case we have any wireless Internet glitches, which often happen).  With that information in mind, I did a little digging around on the Internet to see some tips/feedback about both programs.  I came across an article by David Hall where he compares Photo Story to Windows Movie Maker.  In the article, Hall compares such things as the image quality, file size, music, and transitions.  His article leaned towards Photo Story, but I am still playing around a bit with both programs to decide which is a better fit for me and my school.  My goal for this week is to continue to experiment with Photo Story and Windows Live Movie Maker in the creation of book trailers to see which I am truly more comfortable and confident using (and which would better meet the needs of staff and students in terms of quality, usability, user interface, etc.).  Photo Story, at the moment, seems a bit easier to use, but I like that Movie Maker has a bit more options in terms of playing around with features. Below is a sample of book trailers created by Diplomat Elementary School students using Photo Story 3, courtesy of Michelle Harclerode (2012):

 

I like that they are relatively simple, but still interesting to view.  I’ve also included three mock book trailers I created below (while experimenting with the programs).  The first is one I created using Photo Story 3:

The second two I created using Windows Movie Maker. The first is with narration, the second is without.

At this point, I think I am leaning towards using Windows Movie Maker. There are aspects of Photo Story 3 that frustrate me a bit (I’ll expand on that in the next post) and I like the extra options and versatility that Windows Movie Maker has.

Overall, as I work towards my final vision, I am getting more and more excited to see how it turns out.  I’m looking forward to seeing how everyone else’s projects are going!

References:

Bass, Bill.  (2013). From Inspiration to Red Carpet: Elementary Book Trailer Project. Edutopia. Retrieved from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/film-festival-elementary-book-trailer-bill-bass

DeSantis, Barbara. (2013). Making Book Trailers with Animoto. Animoto Blog. Retrieved from https://animoto.com/blog/education/book-trailer-videos/

Hall, David. (n.d.). Photo Story vs. Windows Movie Maker. Retrieved from http://techwisekids.com/lessons/yearbook/photo_story_vs_wmm.htm

Harclerode, Michelle. (2012). Student Book Trailers Examples. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1emxcttgKE

Holland, Beth. (2013). Projects to Engage Middle School Readers. Retrieved from:http://www.edutopia.org/blog/projects-engage-middle-school-readers-beth-holland

Unknown Artist. (n.d.). [Image of Book Trailer]. Retrieved from http://en.community.epals.com/book_club/b/clubhouse_activities/archive/2013/01/22/video-book-trailer.aspx

Unknown Artist. (n.d.). [Image of Planning]. Retrieved from https://sites.google.com/site/ilahcmc2/co-planning

Unknown Artist. (n.d.). [Image of Workshop Sphere]. Retrieved from http://jdh.tldsb.on.ca/2014/10/02/conversation-cafe-workshop/

 

 

This entry was posted in Future Vision Project, Libe 477B and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Future Vision Blog #2: Rationale

  1. Excellent post that clearly outlines who this is for! I also liked how you started at the center and worked your way outwards outlining all the different groups who could benefit from this learning opportunity you are designing. So far your explorations, testing, and troubleshooting have gone well and you are pulling all the parts together.

    Like

  2. ydewith says:

    Fantastic description of why you are choosing this topic and why it is relevant to your school. I can’t wait to see your final project. Your staff are lucky to have you researching all of these great ideas to present in a workshop.

    Like

  3. Jena says:

    I love the book trailer idea and I would love to ‘borrow’ this idea from you. I think it’s great that you are going to get your staff involved in creating their own book trailers. I look forward to seeing your finished product!

    Like

  4. I too love your book trailer idea. I will have to research this a bit and use “How Tube” to figure a few things out. I agree with you that libraries have been somewhat neglected and lost their “flare.” Often this is one of the areas that get cut. Our librarian’s time has been and she has been put in the classroom a bit. This cuts her planning time and her time in the library. It looks like more time will be cut for the coming year. How do we make sure to keep libraries a priority and contributing to our school community? I find this trend alarming especially when librarians need the time to change over to learning commons and tinker spaces.

    Like

Leave a Reply

