Reading Review Blog Post #2: Literature Research and Data Collection

Collecting and finding resources on my topic was a bit more overwhelming than I thought it would be.  I started by looking through the course readings/links, moved on to the UBC library, and then the infamous Google. I very quickly had numerous tabs open with potential journal articles, blog posts, videos, and reports centered on my keywords. I started getting myself confused as to where I was even going with my research!  However, after browsing through different sites, articles, and posts, I decided to pause and revisit what I was trying to learn.  Ultimately, I wanted to find out ways to use technology to improve and motivate students’ literacy skills. Thus, I tried to narrow my data collection to more specific ways of doing this (i.e. what programs and pedagogical practices would directly improve students’ motivation and traditional literacy (i.e. reading and writing). I tried finding selections that were useful, easy to apply to my teaching (as in read, experiment, apply), and with a solid basis (i.e. directly linked to student learning and based on methods used in classrooms). Even though I narrowed down my selection to a more specific topic, I still had a ton of options to choose from. At first I thought about focusing in on one specific area (i.e. digital storytelling), but then I realized that I would rather have more teaching strategies/ideas to implement than a number of articles all on the same specific topic/strategy. With that in mind, I narrowed down my list to five selections (well, technically 6+). Because I wanted to experiment with technology (and since using technology with literacy is my whole inquiry project at the moment), I decided to try use Prezi (a new-to-me program) to summarize my selections.  Enjoy!

Prezi Presentation

Collection List (details and descriptions are in my Prezi Presentation).

Carman, Patrick. (2011). Read Behind the Lines: Transmedia has changed the very notion of books and reading. School Library Journal. Retrieved from: http://www.patrickcarman.com/2011/11/read-beyond-the-lines-transmedia-has-changed-the-very-notion-of-books-and-reading-school-library-journal/

 Carman, Patrick. (2011).  TEDxNYED. Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-hrBYvv5UU&feature=player_embedded

Fleming, Laura. (2013). Expanding Learning Opportunities with Transmedia Practices: Inanimate Alice as an Exemplar. The National Association for Media Literacy Education’s Journal of Media Literacy Education. 5(2), 370-377.  Retrieved from: http://digitalcommons.uri.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1124&context=jmle

Holland, Beth. (2013). Projects to Engage Middle School Readers. Retrieved from: http://www.edutopia.org/blog/projects-engage-middle-school-readers-beth-holland

Morgan, Hani. (2013). Multimodal Children’s E-Books Help Young Learners in Reading. Early Childhood Education Journal. 41, 477-483Retrieved from http://link.springer.com.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/article/10.1007/s10643-013-0575-8/fulltext.html.

Yuan, Ting, and Lauren Bakian-Aaker. (2015). Classroom Digital Storytelling in Grade K-2: Writers Make a Movie for the Reader. Childhood Education, 91(5), 402-404. Retrieved from: http://www-tandfonline-com.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/doi/pdf/10.1080/00094056.2015.1090860

This entry was posted in Libe 477B, Reading Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Review Blog Post #2: Literature Research and Data Collection

  1. Fantastic post! I was so impressed with your early results of your research! Your prezi provided an excellent way to review and discuss these resources as potential assets for your further explorations. Inanimate Alice is an perfect vehicle for your goals, and one that I am very familiar with. I’ve reviewed Inanimate Alice for ERAC and also used it myself with some of my classes. You’ve done a great job explaining your research process so far and done an early initial review of the usefulness of your results.

    Like

    • aaiello22 says:

      This is the first time I’ve ever come across Inanimate Alice and I have to say it is extremely intriguing! I’ve been exploring the site and can’t believe how engaging the episodes are (a bit scary even!). It’s amazing how the sound/effects/visuals/writing all impact the reader/viewer. Do you have a link to your review on it? I’d love to hear more about how you have used it with your classes. I’m really hoping to try it out in collaboration with the Grade 7 teacher at my school. It’s an interesting group and there are a few boys in that class that I think would really come alive with it (very reluctant readers/writers).

      Like

Leave a Reply

